May the peace and love of Jesus Christ be with you always

Lenten Obligations

Days of Fast and Abstinence
Good Friday is a day of fast and abstinence.  The law of fasting allows one full meal and two smaller meals. The law of abstinence prohibits the eating of meat.  The obligation of abstinence begins at age 14.  The law of fasting obliges all between the ages of 18 and 59.

  • Days of Abstinence
    The Fridays of Lent are days of abstinence in the United States.
  • Weekdays of Lent
    There is no obligation to fast on weekdays of Lent.  However, voluntary acts of self-denial are recommended.
  • Acts of Penance
    All members of the Christian faithful are encouraged to do acts of penance and charity beyond what is prescribed by law. Pastors and parents are to see to it that minors, though not bound by the law of fast and abstinence, are educated in the authentic sense of penance and encouraged to do acts of penance suitable to their age.
  • Easter Duty Obligation
    The obligation of all the faithful who have attained the use of reason to receive Holy Communion at least once during the Season of Easter is called the Easter Duty.  It is also recommended that the faithful fulfill their obligation of annual confession at this time out of practical considerations. This obligation must be made from the first Sunday in Lent through Trinity Sunday.
  • Station of the Cross

The Stations of the Cross are a 14-step Catholic devotion that commemorates Jesus Christ’s last day on Earth as a man.  The Stations of the Cross are held every Friday during Lent.